Phone 888-909-4274, ext. 1
Death Claims: 800-537-5024, option #2
Employees are eligible to enroll in the plan on their first day of employment. The minimum contribution is $20 per pay period.
Employees are eligible to enroll in this plan on their first day of employment. The minimum contribution is $200 annually, which equals $8 per pay period. Enrollment in the 403(b) Plan is limited to employees of the following agencies:
Enrollment into either plan is open all year. Empower representatives can assist you in completing an enrollment form and discuss the investment options available to you. You may also obtain an enrollment form online at CTDCP.com or call 844-505-SAVE (7283).
The State of Connecticut offers basic and supplemental group life insurance. For the basic plan, the employee and the state share the cost of the basic life insurance plan. The employee’s premium share is made via payroll deduction. The benefits of the basic life insurance plan are based on your annual salary.
Employees who enroll in the basic plan are also eligible to participate in a “supplemental” life insurance plan, which provides benefits over and above what is available through the basic plan. The cost of the supplemental life insurance plan is paid entirely by the employee via payroll deduction.
For more information about both the basic and supplemental Group Life Insurance plans, see the Bargaining Employee Basic Group Life Plan Document or the Non-Bargaining Employees Extended Basic Group Life Plan Document.
Permanent employees, whether classified or unclassified, full or part-time, may enroll in the basic life insurance plan upon completion of six months of continuous service. Employees not meeting the definition of Section 5-196(20) of the General Statutes of Connecticut, such as seasonal, temporary, intermittent or contractual employees, are ineligible for Group Life Insurance. Provisional employees may be eligible as provided by collective bargaining agreements. Eligibility to participate in the supplemental life insurance requires participation in the basic life insurance plan and either:
This is the only opportunity to enroll in Basic or Supplemental Group Life, administered by Unum, without documentation or medical approval needed. To enroll, complete the enrollment form and return it to your agency’s HR/Payroll Benefits Specialist by December 31, 2023. If you have any questions or concerns, contact Unum Life Insurance Company’s enrollment representatives at 833-703-1967 and note employer code 1357722 starting December 1.
The state offers three types of Flexible Spending Accounts, administered by TASC. They can be reached at 888-698-1429 or cttasc.com.
DCAP contributions can be used to cover the cost of caring for qualified dependents, including children under the age of 13, a disabled spouse, or other disabled dependents who spend at least eight hours a day in your home. For 2024, the maximum contribution will be $5,000. For married individuals, the spouse must also work or be a full-time student; if you are married filing separately, the maximum contribution will be $2,500 for calendar year 2024.
MEDFLEX contributions can be used to cover medical expenses for yourself, your spouse and your eligible dependent(s). The minimum deduction for MEDFLEX is $520 per year and the maximum deduction is $3,200 per year. Medically necessary out-of-pocket medical expenses are eligible for reimbursement if they are consistent with IRS guidelines.
ENROLLMENT (for DCAP and MEDFLEX): Eligible employees working at least half time (0.50 FTE-Full Time Equivalent) can enroll in DCAP and MEDFLEX during one of the following periods:
USE IT OR LOSE IT: When setting your annual deductions, do not exceed your anticipated annual expenses. Any monies remaining in your DCAP account at the end of the Plan Year (December 31) will be forfeited unless you submit a claim for reimbursement for eligible plan year expense no later than March 31 of the following year. For MEDFLEX you can carry over up to $640 in unused funds to the following plan year. Unused funds over $640 that have not been claimed for eligible expenses by March 31 will be forfeited.
*Mid-Year Changes (MEDFLEX/DCAP):
If you have a change in family status, you have 31 days from the date of the status change to modify your MEDFLEX/DCAP. The change must be consistent with the nature of the family status change.
The QTA allows you to use pre-tax dollars to pay eligible transit and parking expenses for your regular daily direct commute from home to work. Eligible expenses include public transit, van pools and/or the cost of parking at or near your work location. Employees working at least half time (0.5 FTE – Full Time Equivalent) are eligible to enroll on their first day of employment. Maximum benefits for both transit and parking are $315 per month.
ENROLLMENT (for QTA only): You can enroll or change your contributions to the QTA on a monthly basis. Unused amounts can be carried over from year to year. The enrollment form must be received by the first of the month before the month in which your contribution election takes effect.
FORFEITURES: Make sure that your monthly deductions match your monthly QTA expenses. There is no annual forfeiture of unused amounts but, if you retire or terminate employment, any funds remaining in the account may be forfeited if you do not submit eligible claims for reimbursement.
Changes do not require a status change. Employees that have an existing employee-offered parking deduction cannot participate.
Available to employees working 17.5 or more hours per week, retirees and spouses1.
The state has selected three vendors to offer auto, home insurance and personal liability umbrella coverage. You can contact agents at the numbers below to obtain a quote, discuss your coverage options and learn about discounts available to you as a State of Connecticut employee. This voluntary benefit allows active employees to make premium payments through the convenience of payroll deduction.
Employees are eligible to enroll on their first day of employment, provided they work at least 17.5 hours per week and meet the issue-age requirements of 17-69 years of age.
New employees who enroll during the first 90 days of employment can obtain guaranteed coverage for up to 66 2/3% of income to a maximum of $3,000 in monthly benefits.
Employees are eligible to enroll on their first day of employment, provided they work at least 17.5 hours per week.
Employees can obtain guaranteed coverage (no health questions asked) up to $1,250 per week, not to exceed 70% of the basic weekly gross income. The weekly short term disability benefit will be the amount selected when you enroll.
Employees working at least 17.5 hours per week are eligible to enroll for coverage on their first day of employment.
New employees who enroll during the first 60 days of employment can obtain guaranteed coverage. If you waive participation and choose to enroll after the 60-day period, you will be subject to evidence of insurability guidelines.
This coverage may be of interest to members of Tier II, Tier IIA, Tier III and those on the Hybrid Plan of the State Employee Retirement System, as they are not eligible for non-service related disability retirement benefits before completing 10 years of vesting service.
Long-Term Disability coverage delivers a percentage of your income each month for as long as you remain disabled, or until you reach your Social Security Full Retirement Age, whichever comes sooner. If your disability occurs at age 63 or later, your payments may be reduced. Benefits from this plan are tax free. Premium payments can be made via payroll deduction.
You are eligible for Voluntary Life Insurance if you work at least 17.5 hours per week and are enrolled in the Basic Group Life Insurance.
New employees, under age 60, who enroll within the first 6 months of employment can obtain guaranteed coverage up to $100,000 and up to $30,000 for their spouse. Employees enrolling after this initial period are subject to evidence of insurability requirements.
Contact Unum Life Insurance Company’s enrollment representatives at 833-703-1967 and note employer code 1357722.
You are eligible to enroll for Norton LifeLock benefits using payroll deduction if you work at least 17.5 hours per week (excluding those paid on the Special Bi-Weekly pay cycle). State employees that do not meet the minimum hour or pay cycle criteria can enroll for the same Norton LifeLock benefits using direct billing.
Enroll through Norton LifeLock’s Website: http://stateofct.excelsiorenroll.com
For Enrollment Assistance: Call Norton LifeLock by Phone: (844) 698-8640, Option 2
For Post-Enrollment Member Service: Phone: (800) 607-9174, M-F, 9 am – 7 pm (EST) | Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
For Emergency After-Hours Assistance: Phone: (800)543-3562, (800-LIFELOCK)
For Pre-Enrollment Benefit Team or General Account Assistance: Phone: (844) 698-8640, Option 2 | Email: email@example.com