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Description Of The Plan
The State of Connecticut offers basic and supplemental group life insurance. For the 
basic plan, the employee and the state share the cost of the basic life insurance plan. The 
employee’s premium share is made via payroll deduction. The amount of coverage under the 
basic life insurance plan is based on your annual salary and collective bargaining status.
 
Eligible employees who enroll in the basic plan are also eligible to participate in a 
“supplemental” life insurance plan, which provides benefits over and above what is available 
through the basic plan. The cost of the supplemental life insurance plan is paid entirely by the 
employee via payroll deduction. 
 
For more information about both the basic and supplemental Group Life Insurance plans, 
visit: Carecompass.ct.gov/supplementalbenefits
 

Who’s Eligible
Permanent employees, whether classified or unclassified, full or part-time, may enroll in the 
basic life insurance plan upon completion of six months of continuous service.

Employees not meeting the definition of Section 5-196(20) of the General Statutes of 
Connecticut, such as seasonal, temporary, intermittent or contractual employees, are 
ineligible for Group Life Insurance. Provisional employees may be eligible as provided by 
collective bargaining agreements.
Eligibility to participate in the supplemental life insurance requires participation in the basic 
life insurance plan and either:

1. Coverage under a collective bargaining agreement which allows for supplemental life 
insurance coverage; or

2. A yearly gross compensation of $45,500 or more as an employee exempt from collective 
bargaining.

Enrollment
When initially hired, or first eligible, you may request participation from your agency’s Human 
Resources/Payroll benefits office. They will either direct you to your Core-CT eBenefits portal 
or provide you with a personalized enrollment form. If you waive participation, or fail to enroll 
within 31 days of hire you will be subject to evidence of insurability guidelines.

group life insurance
Life insurance provides a payment to your beneficiary upon your death. The 
state offers two group life insurance plans, a basic plan and a supplemental 
plan outlined below. Additional supplemental term life insurance options are 
also available and explained on Page 9.
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457 Plan Eligibility:
Employees, except non-resident aliens, are eligible to enroll in the plan on their first day of 
employment. A rehired retiree other than a senior judge or trial referee is not an eligible 
employee.

403(b) Plan Eligibility:
Employees, except non-resident aliens, are eligible to 
enroll in this plan on their first day of employment. 
Enrollment in the 403(b) Plan is limited to employees 
of the following agencies:

• University of Connecticut (including University of 
Connecticut Health Center)

• State Universities and Community-Technical 
Colleges

• Board of Regents for Higher Education
• Department of Education, including the 

Vocational-Technical High Schools
• Unified School District No. 1 of the Department 

of Corrections
• Unified School District No. 2 of the Department 

of Children and Families and Riverview Hospital
• Unified School District No. 3 of the Department 

of Developmental Services
• Board of Academic Awards
• Connecticut Valley Hospital
• Greater Bridgeport Community Mental Health 

Center
• Southwest Connecticut Mental Health System
• Capitol Region Mental Health Center of the 

Department of Mental Health and Addiction 
Services

• Connecticut Mental Health Center

How to Enroll:
On the web: Go to www.ctdcp.com, then click on Enroll or download a form from the Forms 
tab. Additional assistance can be obtained by calling 844-505-7283 or by scheduling a 
meeting with a retirement counselor at www.ctdcp.com.

CSE CREDIT UNION
The Connecticut State Employees Credit Union (CSE) is a member-owned, not-for-profit 
institution run strictly for the benefit of members. CSE profits are returned to members in the 
form of higher dividends on share accounts (savings), lower loan rates, the lowest possible fees 
and many free services.

To become a member: Go to www.csecreditunion.com, then click on “Become a Member”, and 
complete a membership application form. 

VOLUNTARY RETIREMENT PLANS AND CREDIT UNION

Many families discover — sometimes 

too late — that their pensions and 

Social Security income are insufficient 

after retirement. 

The state’s Defined Contribution
retirement savings plans can help 
you save for a more financially secure 
retirement. Defined Contribution Plans 

are voluntary retirement savings plans 

that permit you to defer income into 

the retirement plan either on a pre-

tax basis or after-tax (Roth) basis. 

The plans offer a wide variety of 

investment options and accept pre-

tax funds (rollovers) from other 401, 

403(b) and 457(b) governmental plans 

and traditional IRAs.

Will you have enough 
for retirement?
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Medical Flexible Spending Account (MEDFLEX)
MEDFLEX contributions can be used to cover medical expenses for yourself, your spouse and your eligible 
dependent(s). The minimum deduction for MEDFLEX is $520 per year and the maximum deduction is 
$3,200 per year. Medically necessary out-of-pocket medical expenses are eligible for reimbursement if 
they are consistent with IRS guidelines.

Dependent Care Assistance Program (DCAP)
DCAP contributions can be used to cover the cost of caring for qualified dependents, including children 
under the age of 13, a disabled spouse, or other disabled dependents who spend at least eight hours a 
day in your home. For 2024, the maximum contribution is $5,000. For married individuals, the spouse 
must also work or be a full-time student; if you are married filing separately, the maximum contribution is 
$2,500 per year. The minimum Plan Year contribution for DCAP is $520.

Enrollment - Eligible employees working at least half time (0.50 FTE-Full Time Equivalent) can 
enroll in DCAP and MEDFLEX during one of the following periods:

1. Within thirty-one (31) days of hire;
2. Within thirty-one (31) days of a change in family status; or
3. The annual open enrollment period (October).

USE IT OR LOSE IT: When setting your annual deductions, do not exceed your anticipated annual 
expenses. Any monies remaining in your DCAP account at the end of the Plan Year (December 
31) will be forfeited unless you submit a claim for reimbursement of the preceding year’s eligible 
expenses no later than March 31 of the following year. For MEDFLEX you can carry over up to $640 
in unused funds to the following plan year. Amounts over $640 that have not been claimed for 
eligible expenses by March 31 will be forfeited. For individuals that do not sign up for upcoming 
year, and have unused funds less than $25 by March 31 will also have funds forfeited.

Qualified Transportation Account (QTA) 
The QTA allows you to use pre-tax dollars to pay eligible transit and parking expenses for your regular 
daily direct commute from home to work. Eligible expenses include public transit, van pools and/or the 
cost of parking at or near your work location. Employees working at least half time (0.5 FTE - Full Time 
Equivalent) are eligible to enroll on their first day of employment. Maximum benefits for both transit and 
parking are $315 per month.

Enrollment (for QTA only) 
You can enroll or change your contributions to the QTA on a monthly basis. Unused amounts can 
be carried over from year to year. The enrollment form must be received by the first of the month 
before the month in which your contribution election takes effect. For example, for your enrollment 
or change to be effective for October, your QTA form must be received by September 1. Enrollment 
forms can be obtained from TASC. 

Forfeitures 
Make sure that your monthly deductions match your monthly QTA expenses. There is no annual 
forfeiture of unused amounts but, if you retire or terminate employment, any funds remaining in the 
account may be forfeited if you do not submit eligible claims for reimbursement.

flexible spending plans (Pre-tax benefits)

A Flexible Spending Plan allows you to set aside a portion of your earnings, pre-tax, to pay 
for certain expenses. If you anticipate incurring any of the expenses listed below, a flexible 
spending account could save you money. The state offers three types of Flexible Spending 
Accounts, administered by Total Administrative Services Corporation (TASC). They can be 
reached at (888)-698-1429 or www.cttasc.com.
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You can elect to participate in these benefits at any time, but for certain insurance products, 
such as life insurance, short-term disability and long-term disability, if you do not sign up 
for these products when you are first eligible to enroll, you may be subject to evidence of 
insurability guidelines if you decide to enroll later. See a summary of the benefits on the 
following pages.

supplemental benefits program

our partners

The Supplemental Benefits Program is designed to complement the benefits provided by 
the state. 
 
Through a joint initiative between the Office of the State Comptroller and the Vendor 
Advisory Committee (VAC), vendors were selected to participate in this program through 
a competitive process that considered price and product offerings.
 
Participation in the program is voluntary, and premium payments are paid by active 
employees through payroll deduction.
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Home and Auto Insurance protects against the financial loss and/or 
liability expenses due to an accident, the damage to, or loss of, your 
automobile, home and/or other personal property.

Eligibility
Available to employees working 17.5 or more hours per week, retirees and spouses.

Enrollment
The state has selected three vendors to offer auto, home insurance and personal liability 
umbrella coverage. You can contact agents at the numbers below to obtain a quote, discuss 
your coverage options and learn about discounts available to you as a State of Connecticut 
employee. This voluntary benefit allows active employees to make premium payments through 
the convenience of payroll deduction.

Liberty Mutual Insurance Co.
Phone: (888) 257-4889
www.libertymutual.com/stateofct

Travelers
Phone:  (888) 695-4640 (new enrollment)
   (800) 842-5075 (existing clients)
www.travelers.com/ct

Farmers Insurance
Phone: (800)438-6381
www.myautohome.metlife.com

LIBERTY MUTUAL INSURANCE

FARMERS INSURANCE (formally metlife)

TRAVELERS

home and auto insurance
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short-term disability insurance

COLONIAL LIFE
Eligibility:

Employees are eligible to enroll on their first day of employment, provided they work at 
least 17.5 hours per week and meet the issue-age requirements of 17-69 years of age.

Guaranteed Coverage:
New employees who enroll during the first 90 days of employment can obtain 
guaranteed coverage for up to 66 2/3% of income to a maximum of $4,000 in monthly 
benefits.
 

How To Enroll: 
Call 1-800-884-0689 or email ColonialHR@Colcapitol.com
On the web: learn.coloniallife.com/State-of-CT/p/1

LINCOLN NATIONAL
Eligibility: 

Employees are eligible to enroll on their first day of employment, provided they work at 
least 17.5 hours per week.
 

Coverage: 
Employees can obtain guaranteed coverage (no health questions asked) up to $1,250 
per week, not to exceed 70% of the basic weekly gross income. The weekly short term 
disability benefit will be the amount selected when you enroll.
 

How To Enroll: 
Call 866-858-1171.

Short-term disability insurance replaces a portion of income when you are 
unable to work due to a covered injury or illness. For more information 
about short-term disability options, contact the carriers listed below.
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long-term disability insurance

LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE (DISCONTINUED)

For existing Transamerica policyholders:
Call: 800-338-0257

For existing UNUM policyholders:
Call: 833-216 -0019

Eligibility:
Employees working at least 17.5 hours per week are eligible to enroll for coverage on their first 
day of employment.

Guaranteed Coverage:
New employees who enroll during the first 60 days of employment can obtain guaranteed 
coverage. If you waive participation and choose to enroll after the 60-day period, you will be 
subject to evidence of insurability guidelines.
 
This coverage may be of interest to those enrolled in the State Employee Retirement System, as 
they are not eligible for non-service related disability retirement benefits before completing 10 
years of vesting service.  

Long-Term Disability coverage delivers a percentage of your income each month for as long 
as you remain disabled, or until you reach your Social Security Full Retirement Age, whichever 
comes sooner. If your disability occurs at age 63 or later, your payments may be reduced. 
Benefits from this plan are tax free. Premium payments can be made via payroll deduction.

How To Enroll: 
Call The Hartford at 888-723-8583 or 203-634-2829, email USICT.SCEVLTD@usi.biz or use the 
mobile app. To access the mobile app, download ‘MyBenefits2GO’ in the App Store, then enter 
R21157 to access State of Connecticut benefits. 

Long-term disability insurance replaces a portion of income when you are 
unable to work due to a covered injury or illness. For more information about 
long-term disability insurance, contact The Hartford below.

Transamerica ceased offering new Long Term Care Insurance policies effective June 30, 2021 
and terminated payroll deduction for all current policy holders on December 31, 2021. 
Existing policy holders were transitioned to direct billing.
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voluntary life insurance

Eligibility: 
You are eligible for Voluntary Life Insurance if you work at least 17.5 hours per week and are 
enrolled for Basic Group Life Insurance.

Guaranteed Coverage: 
New employees, under age 60, who enroll within the first 6 months of employment can 
obtain guaranteed coverage up to $100,000 and up to $30,000 for their spouse. Employees 
enrolling after this initial period are subject to evidence of insurability requirements.
 

How To Enroll: 
Contact Unum Life Insurance Company’s enrollment representatives at 833-703-1967 and 
note employer code 1357722.

Voluntary Life Insurance provides up to $500,000 of coverage for active employees and 
retirees. Premium rates vary, based on the coverage elected and age group in which the 
covered individual is positioned. If the insured passes away during the policy term, the 
death benefit is payable to the designated beneficiary.

UNUM LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY

UNIVERSAL LIFE (DISCONTINUED)

Voya/ReliaStar Life Insurance ceased offering new Universal Life Insurance policies as of 
12/31/2019.
Payroll deduction continued for policies that were in effect as of 12/31/2019.

Currency Policy Holders may contact Voya/ReliaStar Life Insurance
Phone: 888-909-4274 ext. 1
Email: services@ibsbeneflex.com
Death Claims: 800-537-5024 option #2
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identity theft protection

Eligibility:
Active employees are eligible for Norton LifeLock benefits using payroll deduction 
(excluding those paid on the Special Bi-Weekly pay cycle). State employees who retire or 
separate employment may transition to a similar retail benefit with Norton LifeLock.

How To Enroll:
Enroll through Norton LifeLock’s Website: http://stateofct.excelsiorenroll.com
For enrollment Assistance: Call Norton LifeLock by Phone: 844-698-8640, Option 2

For general Benefit Assistance:
Phone: 800-607-9174
Email: eb_service@nortonlifelock.com

Norton LifeLock provides comprehensive all-in-one identity theft protection, credit 
monitoring, device security, parental control, credit card and banking monitoring services, 
which includes sending alerts if a potential threat to your identity is detected. Should you 
become a victim of identity theft, Norton LifeLock will work with you to resolve it.


